UNT Dallas Law Students Shine in TK Moot Court Competition

TK Moot Court First Place Winners

Oyez! Oyez! Oyez! On October 3rd and 4th, 2020, UNT Dallas College of Law’s Board of Advocates held our Fourth Annual UNT Dallas College of Law Intramural Moot Court competition, sponsored by Thompson Knight LLP. Our first place team was Artichala Wise and Marvin Morris. Our second place team was Alissa Rash and Jordan Garrett. Brooke López won Best Oralist. Mavrik Gfeller and Julia Dotter won Best Brief.

The final round was judged by a distinguished panel of guests. Led by Texas Supreme Court Justice Brett Busby, the panel included Federal Magistrate Judge Irma Ramírez of the Northern District of Texas in Dallas, Justice Patricia Alvarez of the Texas Fourth District Court of Appeals in San Antonio, Justice Julia Countiss of the Texas First District Court of Appeals in Houston, and Judge Hector Garza of the 195th District Court in Dallas. Their generous dedication of time and support meant this Moot Court competition was truly successful and we thank them for their enthusiastic encouragement of our students and assistance to our school.

Thanks to our yearly competition sponsor, Thompson Knight LLP, all of these students will be receiving tuition scholarships. Thompson Knight LLP’s attorneys and many other attorneys and faculty members also served as judges for our six rounds of competition. Without the support of our community, this significant opportunity for our students to engage and practice advocacy could not occur.

We also wish to thank the fantastic team of students and faculty members who helped put on this successful competition. Led by 3L student Alexandra Payne-Rodriguez, the UNT Dallas College of Law Board of Advocates, and Assistant Professor/Director of Advocacy Competitions, Laura A. Frase, many dedicated volunteers insured that our first ever on-line Moot Court competition was a great success. Additionally, the Board of Advocates wishes to thank Michael Giallorenzo, UNT Dallas Media Technical Manager, for his tremendous help in setting up all of the online courtrooms and assisting with the technology before and throughout the competition.

Congratulations to all of our winners!